Full Body Circuit Training

I have such a love/hate relationship with circuit training. I love it because it hits so many muscles at once and improves my overall conditioning, however it always amounts to one killer workout! Right now, I typically break up my lifting days into

  • chest/triceps/shoulders
  • back/biceps/light legs
  • legs and
  • full body circuit training

My cardio varies weekly, which I will share soon. I’ll definitely write later posts on all of these workouts and maybe you’ll find some things from each of them that you can incorporate into your training. I like to switch it up pretty often when I train, and try my best to incorporate different movements to keep the muscles guessing!

Since moving to North Carolina, I was fortunate enough to be hired on at the Y to teach cycle and strength training/conditioning classes so I now have a gym to go to. Oh happy day! My workout location preference is definitely in a gym where I have access to multiple types of strength training equipment and my childcare is taken care of so I can focus on going hard for the allotted amount of time and am able to avoid having to take breaks to keep the little one(s) entertained. I realize that many people don’t have gym access for various reasons, so I am going to try my best to incorporate modifications for these exercises (when needed) that can be tailored for home use.

*Please excuse the video quality. Most, if not all, of these movement can be searched online (especially on youtube) if my videos make it difficult to understand the exercise. I absolutely despised being “that person” today at the gym taking video selfies, but visuals always help me better understand new exercises (especially videos). As always, let me know if you have any questions or need further clarification on any of the exercises.

  • Warm-up
    • 800m on treadmill at 1.0 incline

Round 1 

Complete each of the moves in order. Then repeat two times for a total of 3 rounds.

  • Kettlebell swings-20 reps
    • Modification: Use one or two dumbbells (depending on how much weight you need).

  • Medicine Ball Squat and Throw-20 reps
    • Modification: Use dumbbells or a barbell to press overhead when you reach the top of your squat (youtube search thrusters).

  • Burpees-15 reps
    • This is a horrible, horrible video shot so feel free to youtube search another burpee video if you’re unfamiliar with the move. I’ll definitely shoot this one again in the future!

After fully completely round 1 three times through, I got on the treadmill and ran another 800m at a 1.0 incline. You may also substitute some other cardio form of your choice (high knees, jump rope, jumping jacks, etc.) 

Round 2

Complete each of the moves in order. Then repeat two times for a total of 3 rounds.

  • Step Ups with Alternating Hammer Curl-20 total alternating sides each time
    • Tip: If you step up on the bench with your right leg, your left arm will come up to curl and vice versa. Think “opposite leg and opposite arm” come up.

  • Bulgarian Split Squat-15 reps each leg
    • Modification: this move can be done with dumbbells or without weights at all-I promise you’ll still feel it!

  • Leg Lifts-20 reps
    • Modification: this can be also done at home lying flat on the ground and raising/lowering extended legs.

After fully completely round 2 three times through, I got on the treadmill and ran another 800m at a 1.0 incline. You may also substitute some other cardio form of your choice (high knees, jump rope, jumping jacks, etc.) 

Round 3

Complete each of the moves in order. Then repeat two times for a total of 3 rounds.

  • Dumbell Snatch-15 reps each arm

  • Medicine Ball Wood Chop-15 reps each side

After fully completely round 3 three times through, I got on the treadmill and ran another 800m at a 1.0 incline. You may also substitute some other cardio form of your choice (high knees, jump rope, jumping jacks, etc.) 

One thought on “Full Body Circuit Training

  1. Pingback: Full Body Circuit Training - Reynolds Performance Club

Leave a comment