Chicken Fajitas

What can I say, I am a lover of Mexican food! Fajitas, burritos, tacos, salsa, guacamole…the list could go on forever. Unfortunately, our budget (and waistlines) can’t do the authentic Mexican flavor found at a restaurant every time I’m craving Mexican. The ingredients on most seasoning packets can leave a lot to be desired…along with a lot of MSG. I also find that most seasoning packets are way too salty for my taste.

Fajitas are one of my favorite ways to sneak in all of those colorful veggies. I’ve tried a handful of fajita marinades, but I have stuck to a regular I found through Taste of Home with a few modifications. There aren’t too many ingredients, all of them are all staples I regularly keep in stock, and it’s not too spicy for the kiddos. Another thing I LOVE about homemade marinades in general is I can prep this ahead of time (i.e. when the baby is napping) and chop all of my veggies so when it’s dinner time and the kids are going crazy, cooking dinner is practically done for me other than saluting the vegetables and meat. Grilling the chicken is probably my favorite way to prepare the meat for the extra flavor, however the weather was not cooperating last night!

image

Unless I’m trying to keep carbs low during dinner, I put the meat and veggies on a whole wheat tortilla along with salsa, cheese, and plain greek yogurt. If you haven’t tried substituting greek yogurt for sour cream, I highly recommend it. It is a much healthier option and I honestly can’t tell much of a difference. We ate our fajitas with a side of mexican flavored quinoa and oh yes, some chips and salsa. I hope you are able to try this one out and enjoy it as much as we do!

Ingredients:

  • 4T olive oil (divided)
  • 2T lime juice
  • 1t seasoned salt
  • 1 1/2t dried oregano
  • 1 1/2t ground cumin
  • 1t garlic poweder
  • 1/2t chili powder
  • 1/2t paprika
  • 1/2t red pepper flakes (I omit these for the kids)
  • 1 1/2 lb boneless chicken breast cut into thin strips
  • bell peppers of your choice (red, yellow, orange, etc)
  • white or yellow onion

Directions:

  1. In a large resealable bag, combine 2T olive oil, lime juice, and seasonings. Refrigerate 1-4 hours (the longer the better) and turn occasionally.
  2. In a large skillet, saute peppers and onions in 1T olive oil. Remove.
  3. In the same skillet, sauté chicken in the remaining 1T olive oil until no longer pink. You may grill the chicken instead if you prefer.
  4. Return peppers and onion to the skillet. Serve warm on a wheat tortilla or alone.

 

Leave a Reply

