22 Minute Treadmill Interval Training

Any kind of high intensity interval training (HIIT) is a sure way to blast major calories and burn fat in a relatively short amount of time. I try to incorporate 1 running (preferably 2 if I’m training for a race) running HIIT workout(s) into my weekly routines. The great thing about most speed workouts like this it leaves enough time to squeeze in some strength training or core work afterwards if you’re feeling extra energetic!

I included the speed in which I completed each of these intervals, however this will vary greatly based on your running level and cardiovascular fitness. The main goal in this workout is to run at your “uncomfortable” level (and a little extra is possible) for 1 minute. During the following 2 minute recovery time, you may need to walk and that is totally fine. Ideally, you want to build up to where you can jog during that time and increase your endurance. I try to raise my speed for each sprint interval so they get progressively more challenging as I go. You don’t have to complete this workout on a treadmill. You can do it at a track, in your neighborhood, on a trail, etc. Just bring your watch so you can time out time out your intervals and you’re good to go! Enjoy…or not :). I assure you it’s good for you in the end!

image

Leave a Reply

